About Ensemble Theatre Company of Santa Barbara

Our Mission, Vision and Values

Ensemble Theatre Company of Santa Barbara (ETC) is Santa Barbara’s sole professional Equity theater company. Producing five plays per season, it has been home to several World, American and West Coast premieres and has received recognition and accolades throughout its enduring history.

ETC’s Mission:
The Ensemble Theatre Company of Santa Barbara is committed to celebrating the human spirit with professional theatrical events that entertain, educate, provoke thought, ignite imagination, and encourage conversation.

ETC’s Vision:

To be a premier regional theatre, embracing the creation of new work as well as innovative productions of classic plays that appeal to and engage a diverse community.

ETC’s Values:

  • We value theatrical integrity and artistic excellence and aim to provide the highest quality productions.
  • We value a creative and inclusive environment that promotes and supports artistic vision and imagination.
  • We value the benefits of collaboration and strive to foster effective partnerships at the highest professional levels.
  • We value the education of young people and adults in the theatre arts and encourage their appreciation of and participation in live theatre.
  • We value all the people who support us and make our work possible and reach out to the community to welcome everyone.

History of the Ensemble Theatre Company of Santa Barbara


In its inception in 1978, ETC was the Ensemble Theatre Project and called Trinity Episcopal Church its home. As its popularity grew, ETC moved to the historic 140-seat Alhecama Theatre, a more traditional theatrical setting that hosted its productions for a quarter of a century and still provides rehearsal space today.


Set on becoming a cultural-programming cornerstone in Santa Barbara, ETC undertook the $12.6 million purchase and renovation of the Victoria Hall Theater, leading to the reimagined 300-seat New Vic Theatre that serves as its resident stage and hosts other artists representing dance, music, film, and lectures.


ETC’s success has been built upon its tremendous stability with only four executive leaders: Joseph Hanreddy (1978-1985), Robert Grande Weiss (1985-2006), Jonathon Fox (2006-2023) and Scott DeVine (2023- ). In addition, the company benefited from the contributions made by Jill Seltzer (2016-2021), who served as managing director, a role DeVine assumed when joining in 2022.


Scott DeVine
Executive Director

Brian McDonald
Artistic Associate / Director of Education 

Elena Cruz
General Manager

Laura Carbonell Monarque
Director of Development
Meg Kruszewska
Ticketing Office Manager

Ashley Burke
Finance Director

Ward LeHardy
Development Associate

Robert Salm
Director of Production

David Bonilla
Assistant Production Manager / Rentals and Facilities Manager

Nikki Stark
Production Administration Assistant

Joe Shelly
Technical Director

Shawn Rodriguez
Lighting and A/V Supervisor

Erica Mings
Wardrobe Supervisor


Officers of the Board

Robert Turbin, President

Gwen Baker, Vice President
Susan Van Abel, Treasurer
Kathy Weber, Secretary

Board of Directors

Meredith Baxter
Peter Bertling
Cynthia Brown
Paula Bruice
Anne Gersh
Mike Gray
Fred Golden
Alan Heeger
Dan Hone
Jon Kechejian
George Konstantinow
Gabriella Little
Paul Longanbach
Doug Norberg
Deb Pontifex
Lisa Reich
Ken Rotman
Derek A. Westen
Dana White
Simon Williams

Financial Information

Ensemble Theater Company is a 501-c(3) not for profit.

stay informed
Sign up to receive news about our shows and events, get a jump on tickets, and take advantage of special offers.